Retreat Centres and Retreat Venues in Canmore and the BowValley, Compared
Search for a retreat centre near Canmore and you'll find a lot of beautiful photos and very few facts. Almost no venue in the region publishes a price, a room size or a capacity for its practice space. If you're a facilitator trying to choose where to run a yoga, wellness, women's, creative or leadership retreat, that means a week of enquiry forms before you can even compare.
So we did the comparison. We read the retreat pages of every venue within about 90 minutes of Calgary that hosts retreat groups, and pulled out what a facilitator actually needs: how many people it sleeps, what space there is for sessions, how food works, whether prices are published, and which park pass your guests will need. We run one of these venues ourselves, Spring Creek Opera House in Canmore, and we've included it honestly: it's a day venue with no beds, which is exactly the right choice for some retreats and the wrong one for others.
All details were checked against each venue's own website or listing in October 2026. Confirm directly before you book.
First, Decide Which Kind of Retreat Venue You Need
Retreat venues near Canmore fall into three groups:
All-in-one retreat centres and lodges, where guests sleep, eat and practise on one property. Simplest for guests, but usually sold as a full buyout or with a minimum group size, and almost never with published prices.
Lodging with a small meeting room, where the room is a bonus to the beds. Good for groups of 15 to 30 who mostly want to stay somewhere lovely.
Day venues, where you rent the practice space only and guests sleep where they like (or at home). Best for day retreats, non-residential weekends and groups whose size you can't predict.
The data suggests non-residential retreats are more common than most people think. In Retreat Guru's March 2026 industry report, covering almost 400,000 registrations, only about 5% of two-day programs included an overnight stay.
The Comparison Table
Venue | Where | Sleeps | Space for sessions | Food | Published price? |
Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge | Kananaskis Village, about 100 km west of Calgary | 317 rooms | 21 meeting rooms; largest 5,700 sq ft | In-house | No |
Mount Engadine Lodge | Spray Valley, 38 km south of Canmore | Up to 34 in 14 units | No dedicated room described | All-inclusive, 4 meals a day | No; 15% off shoulder-season buyouts |
The Crossing at Ghost River | Near Cochrane, about 1 hr from Calgary | 27 ensuite rooms | Boardroom, loft, riverside pavilion; 60 for events | In-house; celiac and vegan options | No |
Mount St. Francis Retreat Centre | Cochrane | 45 bedrooms, shared washrooms | Rooms for 48 and 15; pavilion for about 175 | In-house; vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free on request | Yes: $150 per person per day with meals; $45 per person day use |
Banff Centre | Banff | 387 rooms | About 60 rooms, 72,000 sq ft | In-house | No |
Paintbox Lodge | Downtown Canmore | 21 on full buyout | Meeting room for 20 | Private chef with full buyout only | No |
Everwild Canmore | Silvertip, Canmore | Hotel; retreat minimum 15 | Flex Room for about 15 | In-house | No (restaurant buyout $1,500 + $10,000 food and drink minimum) |
Basecamp Lodge Canmore | Bow Valley Trail, Canmore | Hotel | Great Room for 30, 8 AM to 6 PM | Outside caterers | No |
Alpine Club of Canada clubhouse | Indian Flats Road, Canmore | 31 beds plus cabins | Room for 20 seated, 40 theatre | Self-catered or arranged | No |
Luxara Serenity Point | Silvertip, Canmore | 14 in 6 bedrooms | Yoga studio, sauna, cold plunge | Not stated | No |
Spiritwood Retreat | Priddis, about 20 min from Calgary | Not published | Meeting, workshop and course space | Not stated | No |
CanMore Together | Downtown Canmore | None | Two rooms, up to 100; about 60 seated | Bring your own | Studio Flex only: $39/hr, $329/day |
Canmore Nordic Centre Day Lodge | Canmore Nordic Centre | None | Rooms A, B and Banquet | Cornerstone Catering on site | Yes: $100 to $600 a day |
Spring Creek Opera House | Spring Creek, Canmore | None (hotel and condos a short walk away) | One hall: 120 theatre, 80 banquet; 47 mats | Bring your own caterer; wet bar and servery | Yes: $750 to $1,400 a day + $150 cleaning |
The All-in-One Retreat Centres
Mount Engadine Lodge
A backcountry-style lodge in the Spray Valley with up to 34 guests across lodge rooms, cabins, suites and glamping tents, four meals a day (including afternoon tea) and a closed gate when you book the whole lodge. It has hosted yoga retreats before and offers 15% off full-lodge buyouts from April 1 to May 31 and October 15 to December 15.
Check access before you book: a June 2026 rockslide closed the Grassi Lakes area and part of the Spray Lakes road from the Canmore side "until further notice". Ask the lodge which route guests should use. Needs a Kananaskis Conservation Pass.
The Crossing at Ghost River
The strongest retreat-focused website in the region: 27 ensuite rooms (no TVs), a barn-style loft, a riverside pavilion and in-house food, about an hour from Calgary near Cochrane. Reviewers mention celiac, vegan and dairy-free meals handled well, and the venue runs its own women's retreat. No published prices.
Mount St. Francis Retreat Centre
The only regional retreat centre that publishes its prices: $150 per person per day for overnight groups with all meals, and $45 per person for day use. Rooms are simple, with shared washrooms, and the setting is quiet and contemplative (it hosts silent retreats). Best for budget-conscious groups who value simplicity over views.
Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge
Conference scale: hundreds of rooms, a 5,700 sq ft ballroom and the Kananaskis Nordic Spa next door. Best for large corporate wellness programmes; too big and impersonal for most groups of 12 to 20. Needs a Kananaskis Conservation Pass.
Banff Centre
A full campus with 387 rooms, about 60 meeting rooms, three restaurants and a fitness centre with pool and steam rooms. Strong for leadership and creative retreats; its conference page doesn't offer yoga or wellness packages. Inside Banff National Park, so every vehicle needs a park pass.
Canmore Lodging With a Room
Paintbox Lodge sleeps 21 on a full-lodge rental, with a meeting room for 20 and a private chef available only with a full buyout. Lovely for a small, all-together group.
Everwild Canmore is a Nordic spa hotel. Retreats need at least 15 guests, its only session space is a Flex Room for about 15, and its own planning document says it has "no traditional event space". The spa is adults only.
Basecamp Lodge Canmore has a bright Great Room for up to 30, but it closes at 6 PM, so evening sessions need another room.
The Alpine Club of Canada clubhouse sleeps 31 in a hostel setting with a meeting room, and the Association of Nature and Forest Therapy uses it for trainings. You'll need a car.
Luxara Serenity Point in Silvertip is a whole-house rental for 14 with its own yoga studio, sauna and cold plunge. Great for a small, luxurious group; no published rates.
Day Venues in Canmore
If your guests can sleep at home or book their own rooms, a day venue gives you far more flexibility.
CanMore Together downtown is set up for wellness groups, with yoga mats, meditation cushions, blankets and a tea bar included, and partner add-ons like sound baths and breathwork. Its Studio Flex room is $39 an hour.
The Canmore Nordic Centre Day Lodge has meeting rooms from $100 a half day, but retreats need written approval, athletic events take priority and guests need a Kananaskis Conservation Pass to park.
Spring Creek Opera House (our venue) is a log-cabin hall with floor-to-ceiling Three Sisters views, a sound system, a wet bar and servery for your caterer, a lawn and firepit, and creekside trails at the door. The whole building is yours from 7 AM to 10 PM, there's no minimum group size, and the Malcolm Hotel and Spring Creek condos are a short walk away. It has no beds, so it isn't the right choice if you want everyone under one roof.
Park Passes: The Detail That Catches Guests Out
Where the venue is | What guests need |
Town of Canmore (including Spring Creek, downtown, Silvertip) | Nothing. Canmore is outside Banff National Park. |
Kananaskis (Kananaskis Village, Spray Valley, Canmore Nordic Centre) | A Kananaskis Conservation Pass: $15 per vehicle per day, or $90 a year. |
Banff National Park (Banff Centre, Lake Louise lodges) | A Parks Canada pass: $24.50 per vehicle per day for up to seven people, or $12.25 per adult. The free Canada Strong Pass ended on September 7, 2026. |
Cochrane and Priddis (Crossing, Mount St. Francis, Spiritwood) | No pass found. |
Everyone under one roof, all meals handled: Mount Engadine, The Crossing or Mount St. Francis.
Small, luxurious group of 14 or fewer: Luxara Serenity Point or a Paintbox Lodge buyout.
Spa-centred retreat: Everwild, if your group meets its 15-guest minimum, or Kananaskis Mountain Lodge with the Nordic Spa.
Day retreat or non-residential weekend: a Canmore day venue, with guests driving in from Calgary or booking their own rooms.
Large group (40 to 120) for a day: Spring Creek Opera House or a Kananaskis Mountain Lodge ballroom.
Tight budget: Mount St. Francis ($150 per person per day with meals) or a Town of Canmore or Nordic Centre room.
A Gap Worth Knowing About
On BookRetreats, the "10 Best Yoga Retreats in Canmore" page lists 30 retreats, and none of them is held in Canmore: most are private stays in Bragg Creek, and nine are in other provinces or the U.S. Retreat Guru's Alberta page lists a single retreat and no centres. For a facilitator, that's an opportunity: a well-run retreat in Canmore has very little competition on the platforms that retreat-goers search.
Looking for a retreat venue in Canmore? Spring Creek Opera House is a private, mountain-view retreat venue in Canmore for day retreats and non-residential weekends, with no minimum group size, a kitchen for your caterer, and published rates. Check your dates.
FAQs
What retreat centres are near Canmore?
The main ones are Mount Engadine Lodge in the Spray Valley, Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge in Kananaskis Village, the Banff Centre in Banff, and The Crossing at Ghost River and Mount St. Francis near Cochrane. In Canmore itself, retreats use lodges such as Paintbox Lodge and Everwild, and day venues such as CanMore Together and Spring Creek Opera House.
How much does a retreat centre cost in Alberta?
Most don't publish prices. Mount St. Francis in Cochrane charges $150 per person per day with all meals, and $45 per person for day use. Day venues in Canmore start from $39 an hour for a small studio room and around $750 a day for a full hall.
Do I need a park pass for a retreat near Canmore?
Not in Canmore itself. Kananaskis venues need a Kananaskis Conservation Pass ($15 per vehicle per day), and Banff venues need a Parks Canada pass.
Can I run a retreat in Canmore without booking a whole lodge?
Yes. Rent a day venue for your sessions and let guests choose their own accommodation, or run a non-residential retreat for guests driving in from Calgary.


Comments